On April 25, 2023, we hosted our 8th annual Teachers of Excellence Awards. We honored four teachers from local elementary schools who were selected by their peers to receive this award. Each teacher was gifted a beautiful glass apple trophy, a monetary contribution and a school supply kit. Congrats to all the teachers who were awarded but more so thank you to ALL teachers around the world. You make the world a better place.
We gathered to learn more about each teacher and celebrate them with their principals and Dr. Peter Knapik. The teachers chosen this year were (in alphabetical school order):
  • Bret Harte Elementary: Sarah Matsui Von Guetzow, Resource Teacher
  • Disney Elementary: Hilde Garcia, 4th grade teacher
  • Roosevelt Elementary: Mackenzie Scheinman, Speech Pathologist
  • Stevenson Elementary: Sinai Ortiz, 5th grade teacher
Congratulations to our teachers! And thank you to all of our Rotarians for supporting our Burbank Rotary Foundation!
Left to Right:Stephanie Bennett (club president), Dr. Peter Knapik, Sarah Matsui Von Guetzow, Martha Walter, Jill Johnson, Sinai Ortiz, Mackenzie Scheinman, Matt Osmond, Hilde Garcia, Rebecca Harris, Albert Hernandez (foundation president)